OnlineRock Blog

31 December 2009

Up to 20% on Used Gear

Used Gear at

Save Up to 20% on Used Gear at (coupon: USED, exp: 1/3)

16 December 2009


(New York, NY) – In the spirit of holiday giving, RED Distribution continues to donate 100% of the proceeds from the benefit compilation the company produced for the non-profit organization Malaria No More, entitled Indie Rocks! A Benefit Album For Malaria No More. The compilation comprises 14 songs from artists including Juliette Lewis, The Walkmen and Youssou N’Dour, in addition to an exclusive live track from Third Eye Blind, and an exclusive cover track from Peter Bjorn and John. The compilation is available NOW for $10 at ALL digital retailers in the US, including Amazon, iTunes, eMusic, and Malaria No More is also featuring the album in their online holiday store:

Indie Rocks! A Benefit Album For Malaria No More features an outstanding line-up of Artists. Third Eye Blind, which just made an impressive comeback in 2009 by charting at #3 on the Top 200 Billboard Charts with Ursa Major, has generously contributed the exclusive live track “Bonfire.” Acclaimed Swedish indie rock band Peter Bjorn and John donated an incredible exclusive cover track “Summer Breeze,” originally written by Seals & Crofts. The multi-talented Juliette Lewis came on board with “Fantasy Bar,” off her new album Terra Incognita. The Walkmen have given the riveting “Four Provinces,” off 2008’s You & Me, which in a similar charitable spirit, was released as an exclusive with Amie Street, with all proceeds for the album going to Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. The renowned singer, songwriter, composer, cultural icon, and 2005 Grammy Award Winner Youssou N’Dour is one of the most celebrated African musicians in history. Having already worked very closely with Malaria No More, he recorded the song “Fight Malaria,” and allowed this track to be part of Indie Rocks! A Benefit Album For Malaria No More.

The World Health Organization’s 2009 World Malaria Report shows promising progress in the global effort to end malaria deaths. Between 2006 and 2008, 140 million mosquito nets were distributed across Africa and the results are beginning to show the impact. In releasing Indie Rocks! A Benefit Album For Malaria No More, RED and all of the Artists who have generously donated their music will continue to significantly reduce malaria infections and help make malaria-related deaths a thing of the past.

About Malaria No More:
Malaria No More is determined to end malaria deaths in Africa—and we’re helping the world get it done. We use breakthrough communications, global advocacy and smart investments to help us reach our goal: providing universal access to malaria interventions by the end of 2010 and ending deaths by 2015. Every 30 seconds a child dies from malaria, but a simple net can save lives. Find out how you can help at .

Track Listing:
1.) Peter Bjorn and John - Summer Breeze (Exclusive)
2.) Juliette Lewis - Fantasy Bar, from Terra Incognita
3.) Jeff The Brotherhood - Bone Jam, from Heavy Days
4.) The Grates - Two Kinds Of Right from Teeth Lost, Hearts Won
5.) Third Eye Blind - Bonfire (Exclusive, Live in NYC)
6.) Dirty Little Rabbits- Hello, from Simon
7.) Wild Light - California On My Mind, from Adult Nights
8.) The Walkmen - Four Provinces, from You & Me
9.) State Radio - Calling All Crows, from Let It Go
10.) Those Darlins - Wild One, from Those Darlins
11.) Great Lake Swimmers - Pulling On A Line, from Lost Channels
12.) Kate Miller-Heidke - Politics in Space, from EP Kate Miller-Heidke
13.) Yonder Mountain String Band - Fingerprint, from The Show
14.) Youssou N’Dour - Fight Malaria

15 December 2009

Top Releases of 2009

I'm usually not a fan of Top Ten Lists but I did want to take a moment and post some of my favorite releases of the year.  It's actually my Top Five.  2010 is looking like a good year as well with releases from Beach House, Spoon, Eels, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and Goldfrapp to name a few.  Feel free to leave some of your favorites in the comments below or on our Sounding Board

Please note that these are in no specific order:

Kid Mud - Now They Shut Us Down

Read our review

Wye Oak - The Knot

Read our review
Fever Ray - Self Titled

Read our review
John Vanderslice - Romanian Names

Read our review

Tiny Vipers - Life on Earth

Read our review

There are a few others that should be added as well including Grizzly Bear, Hopewell, Marissa Nadler and Great Northern.

OnlineRock Podcast Vol. 38 - December 15th Edition featuring Sloan, Midnight Masses, Tanlines, Magic Kids, Steve Mason, MillionYoung and More

OnlineRock Podcast Vol. 38 Hosted By Andrew McNair Featuring:

1. Sloan: Take It Upon Yourself, Hit & Run EP, Murderecords
2. Midnight Masses: Walk on Water, Rapture Ready, I Gazed at the Body EP on Team Love
3. Taylor Hollingsworth: Trail of Tears, Life with a Slow Ear on Team Love
4. MillionYoung: Hammock, Sunndreamm EP self-released, (
5. Magic Kids: Superball, split 7" with The Smith Westerns on Fat Possum
6. Steve Mason: All Come Down, Boys Outside on Black Melody
7. Tycho: Coastal Brake, Coastal Brake single on Ghostly International
8. Mt. St. Helens Vietnam Band: Inuit, An Eskimo Christmas EP, self-released
9. Tanlines: Saw, FADER/Southern Comfort 7" Series #11 on The Fader

Andrew McNair lives in Seattle, having recently freed himself from nearly a decade in academia. Aside from producing the OnlineRock Podcast, he also writes and performs sketch comedy.

Download Now

11 December 2009

Earn Up to $200 Credit at Musician's Friend

Some weekend discounts and coupons. Please make sure that you use the correct coupon codes. Enjoy!

Earn Up to $200 In Credit with Purchase at (coupon: Holiday, exp:12/13)

Free Shipping on Orders $49+ at (exp: 12/19)

$100 Instant Rebate on POD X3 Effects Pedal at (coupon: LIVE, exp: 12/13)

04 December 2009

Music Man 25th Anniversary Guitar

More End of the Year Coupons and Deals

We've just received a fresh batch of coupons, deals and specials. Please make sure to use the special coupon codes:

15% Off Select Holiday Products at (coupon: HOLID45, exp: 12/31)

Free Shipping on Orders over $20 at (coupon: FREESHIP, exp: 12/31)

02 December 2009

OnlineRock Podcast Vol. 37 - December 1st Edition featuring Brilliant Colors, Brazos, BOAT, Tune-Yards, Yellow Fever and more

OnlineRock Podcast Vol. 37 Hosted By Andrew McNair Featuring:

1. Brilliant Colors: Absolutely Everything, Introducing on Slumberland
2. Avi Buffalo: What's It In For?, What's It In For Single on SubPop Records
3. Small Black: Despicable Dogs, Small Black 12" on Cass Club
4. Tamaryn: Mild Confusion, Mild Confusion 7" on True Panther Sounds
5. The Pains of Being Pure at Heart: Higher Than the Stars, Higher Than the Stars EP on Slumberland
6. Brazos: Day Glo, Phosphorescent Blues on Autobus Records
7. Yellow Fever: Hellfire, Yellow Fever on Wild World
8. BOAT: Lately, Setting the Paces on Magic Marker Records
9. Tune-Yards: Sunlight, Bird-Brains on 4AD

Andrew McNair lives in Seattle, having recently freed himself from nearly a decade in academia. Aside from producing the OnlineRock Podcast, he also writes and performs sketch comedy.

Download Now

01 December 2009 Holiday Savings Coupon

$50 Off purchases of $349 or more at (coupon: Holiday, exp:12/6)