OnlineRock Blog

08 June 2011

Ruby Electric Album Release

Monday July 11th sees the release of “Ruby Electric” - Philip Sayce's latest album on Provogue Records. The album showcases previously unreleased studio and live tracks and includes the single Let The Love In” featuring a duet with Melissa Etheridge. Listen below.

Ruby Electric is a unique album that features a collection of songs divided into two different volumes. All the songs were recorded with some of Sayce’s favourite musicians and friends. The album is currently #2 in Amazon UK’s official Blues pre-sale chart.

Volume 1, recorded at Sunset Sound and Lion’s Share, Hollywood, was produced by Dave Cobb and mixed by Mark Rains. The songs were recorded live in the studio through a collection of vintage equipment and musical instruments, utilizing Cobb’s signature recording and production techniques.

Volume 2, recorded on tour in France, Germany, and Holland in 2010, was mixed by the legendary recording engineer Eddie Kramer (Jimi Hendrix, Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin) in April 2011.

“I'd been looking for the right circumstances to release all of these songs,” says Sayce. “The studio tracks on Volume 1 remained unavailable internationally. We remixed and re-mastered the tracks, picked some alternate takes, and included a live version of Daydream Tonight (the latter originally appeared on Sayce’s 2010 album Innerevolution). As soon as we paired the songs up with the recent live recordings from last year’s European tour, the album became Ruby Electric.

Ruby Electric features Kenny Aronoff (drums), Joel Gottschalk (bass), Fritz Lewak (drums), and Fred Mandel (piano, organ), and as previously mentioned, Melissa Etheridge signs a duet with Sayce on the first single Let The Love In. The album was produced and recorded by Eddie Kramer, Dave Cobb, and Mark Rains.


Post a Comment